Fifth Annual Meeting of the
Association of Centers for the Study of Congress
Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies
May 14-16, 2008

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m: Evening Reception - Byrd Center for Legislative Studies
Heavy hors d’ oeuvres

Thursday, May 15, 2008

8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.: Registration
Coffee and Danish

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.: Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • Ray Smock, President ACSC

9:30 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.: Keynote Address
Reflections on the Modern History of Congressional History

  • Richard Baker, Senate Historical office

10:15 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.: Break

10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.:
Looking Forward: The Future of the ACSC

  • Chair:  Richard Hunt, Center for Legislative Archives, NARA
  • Alan Lowe, Howard Baker, Jr. Center for Public Policy
  • Sheryl Vogt, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies
  • Ray Smock, Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies

12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m.: Lunch

1:15 p.m. - 2:45 p.m.:
The Presidential Timeline as a Model for a Congressional Timeline

  • Chair: Frank Mackaman, Dirksen Congressional Center


  • Ken Tothero, Learning Technology Center, University of Texas, Austin, TX
  • Mary K. Knill, Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, Austin, TX

2:45 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.: Break

3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.:
Congressional Timeline Workshop

  • Frank Mackaman, facilitator
  • Ken Tothero, Mary K. Knill
  • Participation of ACSC members

6:30 p.m. - 7:15 p.m.: Cocktail Reception - Bavarian Inn

7:15 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.: ACSC Banquet - Bavarian Inn


Friday, May 15, 2008

8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.: Coffee and Danish

9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.:
Guidelines for Managing Congressional Papers


  • Chair, Kate Cruikshank, Indiana University Libraries
  • Cynthia Miller, Editor of SAA’s new “Guidelines for Managing Congressional Papers.”
  • Jeff Thomas, Ohio State University Library
    Rebecca Johnson Melvin, University of Delaware Library, Special Collections

10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.: Break

11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.:
Special Report on Survey of Congressional Center Finances

  • Stephen Van Buren, University Archivist, South Dakota State University

Treasurer’s Report

  • Phil Duncan

Election of Officers

New and Old Business

12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.: Lunch

1:00 p.m.: Conference Adjourns

Contact us

The Harkin Institute for Public Policy and Citizen Engagement 

Drake University

2507 University Avenue 

Des Moines, IA 50311

© 2019 Association of Centers for the Study of Congress

The ACSC does not release information to third parties except in conjunction with ACSC-sponsored programs.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software